Classification Information

  • Home
  • Classifications

General Classification


SBS Logo - Amy

Screenshot 2023-10-15 201602Each stage of the Tour will have a stage winner. Time bonuses are awarded in seconds to the first, second and third cyclist of each stage. The first rider across the line in the fastest team in Stage 1 - the Teams Time Trial - will be awarded the Orange Jersey.  In each ensuing stage, each cyclist's stage times are aggregated and the cyclist with the lowest aggregate time after each stage is awarded the Orange Jersey.  This cyclists retains the jersey until another competitor records a lower aggregate time.

The overall general classification winner is the rider with the fastest time when all the stage results are added together. This person has the honour of wearing the yellow jersey.

Riders can earn bonus time points for sprints and hill climbs at specific points during each stage. Time bonuses are deducted off the riders time for the stage. Winning time bonuses means that it is possible to win the general classification without winning a stage at the Tour!

Riders who finish in a bunch are all awarded the same time and subtractions are made for those who have won time bonuses during the stage.

Riders earn money depending what their general classification is at the end of each stage and for being placed in the intermediate sprints and hill climbs during the stage.

View the latest results | Visit SBS Bank

Under 23 Classification


HendersonScreenshot 2023-10-15 202501

The leading young rider is determined by the general classification results, including time bonuses for all riders who are eligible to ride in the UCI Under 23 category. All riders born between 1 January 2001 and 31 December 2004 shall be included, based on the 2023 licensing year.

The Under 23 classification jersey is a "can't be missed" florescent pink and is worn by the leading young rider.

View the latest results | Visit Henderson Construction

King of Mountain Classification


Screenshot 2023-10-15 201813

Most stages of the Tour feature at least one gut busting King of the Mountain hill climb.  Riders earn points for the first three placings on each pre-determined hill climb.

The SBS Bank Tour of Southland KOM is decided over 16 hills and 2 stage finishes.

The KOM jersey is very visible with red polka dots on a white background. The current winner has the honour of wearing the jersey during the next stage.  This cyclist retains the KOM jersey until another rider has accumulated more points from hill climb placings. 

View the latest results | Visit Jesco Hydraulic

Sprint Ace Classification


Screenshot 2023-10-15 202327

Points are awarded for all sprints. Sprints are at pre-determined points in most stages.

There are 74 sprints in the SBS Bank Tour of Southland. The cyclist who has won the most sprints wears the vibrant green Sprint Ace jersey. This cyclist retains the Sprint jersey until another rider has accumulated more points from sprint placings.

View the latest results | Visit Harcourts Invercargill

Most Combative Jersey


 store-1037-logo-20200320031946Screenshot 2023-10-15 202801

The McLeay Jewellers Most Combative jersey will be awarded to the rider judged to have done the most to animate a stage, whether by a long solo break, repeatedly attacking the peloton, driving the breakaway, or being the last man standing from a long break. 

Visit McLeay Jewellers







Team Classification



The Team Classification is decided by calculating the times for the three fastest riders in a team for each day.

No jerseys are worn by the leading team but money is awarded to the first twelve teams at the end of each day.

View the latest results | Visit Wensley's Cycles

News & Video


For all your SBS Bank Tour of Southland news and video click here.