Tour Archive

Follow the link below for full results and information from previous Tours

Tour History

In 1956, Southland cycling officials were invited to submit an event to mark the Invercargill city centenary celebrations. A group of enthusiasts met locally and on Saturday 27 September 1956, the Mayor of Invercargill, Mr Abraham Wachner fired the starting pistol outside of the old Post Office in Dee Street, to officially start the inaugural Tour of Southland.  With gravel roads and blustery northerly winds to contend with, Kelvin Hastie from Dunedin prevailed in the three day event and had the honour of being the victor in the first Tour of Southland, an event that would gain high profile for both the sport of Cycling and the province over future years.  

From its modest beginnings as a three day event, the Tour has always caught the imagination of the Southland people and the public have traditionally turned out in numbers to see the high profiled event travelling literally past their back doors.

Many of New Zealand's champion cyclists have competed in the Tour of Southland during their careers. Names such as Warwick Dalton, Tino Tabak, Stephen Cox, Jack Swart, Paul Jesson, Graeme Miller, Brian Fowler and others, became household names in Southland and for many of these riders, the Tour of Southland featured prominently in their illustrious careers.

Over the years, the Tour has taken regular progressive steps to ensure the events popularity and success with the most significant change coming in 1995 when the event successfully made the transition to a team's event and in 2002 when the event gained UCI status and became a registered category 2.2 UCI international Tour.

In recent years, the Tour of Southland has attracted many international riders but during its 60 years of history there have only been three international riders who have won the Tour - Mel Powell (Australia) back in 1964 and American rider John Lieswyn in both 2002 and 2004. Mitchell Lovelock-Fay - Australia 2014.

Past Winners


Tour Champion Sprint Ace King of the Mountain
1956 K. Hastie (Dunedin) NA Pat Wylie
1957 T. Tindale (Invercargill) NA John Holloway
1958 No Tour No Tour No Tour
1959 W. Dalton (Auckland) NA Warwick Dalton
1960 G. Ulmer (Wellington) NA John Holloway
1961 W. Dalton (Invercargill) NA Dick Johnston
1962 A. Walsh (Auckland) NA Laurie Byers
1963 R. Johnstone (Auckland) NA Dick Johnston
1964 M. Powell (Australia) NA Malcolm Powell
1965 T. Tabak (Christchurch) NA Tino Tabak & Gordon Wilson
1966 T. Tabak (Christchurch) NA Tony Ineson
1967 T. Tabak (Christchurch) NA Tony Ineson & Tino Tabak
1968 M. Davis (Invercargill) Harry Kent Harry Kent
1969 W. Dalton (Auckland) Tony Ineson David Gee
1970 D. Gee (Wellington) Jack Broome David Gee
1971 J. Dean (Wellington) Lin Cooper David Gee
1972 B. Stockwell (Christchurch) Barry Ulyatt Barry Ulyatt
1973 M. Hughes (Invercargill) Max Grace David Gee
1974 B. Ramsay (Christchurch) Don Wilson Don Wilson
1975 C. Hogan (Christchurch) Brian Broad Brian Stenning
1976 P. Jesson (Christchurch) Jack Swart Vern Hanaray
1977 W. Perkinson (Auckland) Blair Stockwell Brain Stenning
1978 P. Jesson (Christchurch) Roger Sumich Vern Hanaray
1979 E. McKenzie (Kawerau) Russell Nant Vern Hanaray
1980 A. Cuff (Palmerston North) Roger Sumich Vern Hanaray
1981 S. Cox (Hamilton) Mark Bell Blair Stockwell
1982 S. Cox (Hamilton) Graeme Miller Stephen Cox
1983 J. Swart (Hamilton) Mark Bell Stephen Cox
1984 J. Swart (Hamilton) Brian Fowler Graeme Miller
1985 B. Fowler (Christchurch) Brian Fowler Brian Fowler
1986 B. Fowler (Christchurch) Brian Fowler Paul Miller
1987 B. Fowler (Christchurch) Graeme Miller Graeme Miller
1988 B. Fowler (Christchurch) Michael Leahy Brian Fowler
1989 B. Fowler (Christchurch) Gavin Stevens Graeme Miller
1990 B. Fowler (Christchurch) Brian Fowler Brian Fowler
1991 S. Lowe (Christchurch) Darien Rush Brian Fowler
1992 B. Fowler (Christchurch) Darien Rush Brian Fowler
1993 L. Burt (Christchurch) Glen Thomson Brendan Hart
1994 D. Bath (Invercargill) Ric Reid Dean Cooksley
1995 B. Fowler (Christchurch) Chris Barnsley Gordon McCauley
1996 G. McCauley (Dunedin) Tim Carswell Franky van Haesebroucke
1997 G. Miller (Auckland) Gordon McCauley Graeme Miller
1998 S Guyton (Rotorua) David Lee Chris Barnsley
1999 G. Miller (Auckland) Graeme Miller Glen Mitchell
2000 G. Mitchell (Hamilton) Greg Henderson Brian Fowler
2001 K. Moore (Te Awamutu) Gordon McCauley Scott Guyton
2002 J. Lieswyn (USA) Hayden Godfrey Tom Leaper
2003 S. Guyton (Rotorua) Joel Pearson Gordon McCauley
2004 J. Lieswyn (USA) Curtis Gunn Gordon McCauley
2005 G. McCauley (Auckland) Hayden Godfrey Anthony Chapman
2006 H. Roulston (Ashburton) Karl Murray Joe Chapman
2007 H. Roulston (Ashburton) Miles Watson Jeremy Yates
2008 H. Roulston (Ashburton) Dominique Rollin Jeremy Yates
2009 H. Blackgrove (Waimate) Ben King Patrick Bevin
2010 H. Roulston (Ashburton) Roman van Uden Joe Cooper
2011 J. Atkins (Christchurch) Gordon McCauley Joe Chapman
2012 M. Northey (Auckland) Sam Witmitz Joe Chapman
2013 J. Oram (Auckland) Tom Scully Grayson Napier
2014 M. Lovelock-Fay (Australia) Matt Zenovich Thomas Stewart
2015 B. Evans (Dunedin) Fraser Gough Joseph Cooper
2016 A. Gate (Auckland) Nick Kergozou Tim Rush
2017 J. Piccoli (Canada) Alex Ray James Piccoli
2018 M. Vink (Christchurch) Matt Zenovich Ethan Batt
2019 M. Vink (Christchurch) Tom Sexton Ollie Jones
2020 A. Gate (Auckland)  James Fouche Paul Wright
2021  M. Vink (Christchurch)  George Jackson James Fouche
2022 J. Burnett (Invercargill) George Jackson Nick Kergozou de la Boessiere