Sponsors & Trophies

  • Home
  • Sponsors & Trophies

The SBS Bank Tour of Southland cycle race receives excellent support and cooperation from a huge range of sponsors, funders, organisations and volunteers.

For one week a year, all Tour supporters join together with a single cause - to produce the most professional, safe and hospitable multi-staged cycle race in New Zealand. The tremendous community support that is traditionally offered to the Tour of Southland is instrumental to the ongoing success of this proud Southland sporting occasion.

Businesses and funding organisations are obviously essential to the success of the Tour - without funding the event would not be possible. A range of sponsorship options and special awards are available to anyone interested in joining the "Tour family".



SBS Bank - Tour naming rights and General Classification sponsor.

Jesco Hydraulics  - King of the Mountains classification.

Harcourts Real Estate - Sprint Ace classification.

Wensley's Cycles - Team classification.

Henderson Construction - U23 classification.

Stonewood Homes - O35 (silver) classification. 

McLeay Jewellers - Most Combative classification.

Businesses and organisations have the ability to sponsor a cycling team which provides excellent exposure through the various media that are associated with the event.  Involvement as a team sponsor is also a great opportunity for some fun and intense staff-team building!

Team sponsors pay a team entry fee, arrange a manager and a driver, food, a support vehicle, supporting staff, and often arrange a masseuse, mechanic, promotional wear for support staff and radio equipment to communicate with riders.  The benefits are numerous not the least being totally immersed in a positive, active, successful event.

Each stage has a main stage sponsor but also features numerous sprints and hill climbs along the way that involve associated sponsors.

Each Sponsor associated with the Tour of Southland, receives acknowledgement of their support through the Official Tour Programme, in the Southland Times Tour Supplement and on the official Tour website.

Stage 5 Sponsors


295 on Tay Motel - Bains Shipping Service - Berry & Co - Bluff Building & Timber Supplies - Bluff Engineering & Welding - Burndale Dairy Farm - C H Faul Division of Aquaheat - First in Windsor - Golden Age Tavern - John Edminston - Lees Dairy & Cafe - McKenzie Marine & Mackraft - Nind Electrical Services - Open Country Dairy Ltd - Rodgers Garage - South Port NZ Ltd - Southern Suzuki - Southfish Ltd - Steve Gooding Marine Services - Willowcreek - Woodlands Motors - Wyndham Four Square - Z Gladstone 

General Classification Sponsors


Trophies and Special Awards


The SBS Bank Trophy
Awarded to the Tour winner.

The Ray O'Connor Memorial Trophy
Presented to the winner of the King of the Mountain.

Rex Cruickshank Memorial Trophy
The best placed Southland rider in general classification receives the Rex Cruickshank Memorial Trophy.

Tindale Memorial Trophy
resented to the winner of the Tour's Individual Time Trial. 

Sheepish Award
The Sheepish Award is presented to the person who has entertained all with the biggest gaffe of the Tour.  

Lantern Rouge
The Lantern Rouge is awarded to the last (but not least) rider on General Classification - someone has to be last.


For further information please contact the SBS Bank Tour of Southland Race Director - Glen Thomson. 

Email: [email protected]

Mobile: 03 2199325